A duck ducking its head

At the farm shop this morning it felt as if it was freezing. I bought my vegetables and a couple of small plants – to introduce a new garden mint to add diversity to our herbs. Before driving off I had a closer look at the collection of chickens, ducks and geese which are kept in a fenced off area of woodland which provides shelter and space.

I was intrigued by their behaviour as I don't often see farmyard breeds up close. This duck kept shoving its head deep into the water, and then coming up with a mouthful of green weeds. I'm sure Ashley and Keith, the farming brothers, must add the green plants to the water so the ducks can graze as they would in a pond, lake or stream. 

It ducked its head very fast so that the water created interesting patterns and little waves which also intrigued me. I've always liked watching waves of all types ever since my school physics lessons taught me to observe their patterns and how they interact with each other. I know, I know.

One of the geese had avoided laying its huge egg in one of the large 'houses' or shelters, and just dropped it in the mud in the middle of the pen. It looked rather incongruous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.