MONO MONDAY - WACKY AND 100 ABSTRACTS DAY 3

The theme for today’s Mono Monday challenge is “Wacky” and whilst you may not see anything particularly wacky in this shot, the setting up and the laughter and fun we had doing it was definitely wacky - see below.  

I have, at last, made myself a pair of fingerless gloves, today’s subject, having made almost a hundred pairs for other people and they have gone all over the world to various Blip friends.  I have also made lots of pairs for the Wiltshire Air Ambulance crews in their colours of yellow and green, so making a pair for me was well overdue.

You may also remember that I am doing a 100 Abstracts Challenge, not necessarily consecutively, to celebrate the fact that it is 100 years since Mamie and Jack Martin, a Church of Scotland missionary, were married and started their new life in Malawi in the 1920s.  The Mamie Martin Fund exists to support and advance the secondary education of young women and girls in schools in North Malawi - and you can read more about this and also the challenge here.   

In these days and especially in this country, when we and our children and grandchildren are so privileged with regard to schooling, it is good to support those who are much less fortunate, and this is my aim in doing the challenge.  

Now back to today’s challenge - the wool I used - and you can see it in colour in the extra photograph, is quite abstract in itself and knits up beautifully in what we used to call a Fair Isle pattern - for those interested, it is King Cole “Cherish” Baby Double Knitting wool - and I can get four gloves, or two pairs out of one 100g ball.  Interestingly, this colour is Honeycomb, which I thought was rather appropriate.  I have heard from Janet Sinclair, one of Mamie and Jack’s granddaughters and she has even sent me a Pledge 100 sheet so that I can mark off my challenges as I do them.

I was going to take a photograph of my own hands, but when Mr. HCB asked how I proposed doing that, I looked at him and said that perhaps that wasn’t possible, but he could wear the gloves!  

You know he likes to “chunter on”, which he duly did, especially when I asked him to move several times because the light wasn’t right and then, of course, and right on cue, he told me that the more he moved and the more shots I took, the more I would have to pay him - you know what he’s like!  Anyway, having negotiated a deal, this is the shot of my new wacky fingerless gloves in mono - so two challenges in one today - Mono Monday and my 100 Abstracts, because the wool is kind of abstract! 

It’s a great feeling to know I am helping young women and girls in North Malawi - and do feel free to join in with the challenge.  You can do anything you want to - but I didn’t feel up to running, cycling or hoola hooping, hence the photograph challenge.

“You have not lived today 
     until you have done something 
          for someone 
               who can never repay you.” 
John Bunyan : 1628-1688
English Writer and Puritan Preacher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.