So quiet yet full of life

I woke to snow first thing and expected to be cold at the woodland burial of an old friend that I was going to this morning. Instead the morning turned and we gathered in strong sunlight to bid farewell to Averil. 

She and I were in the same poetry class for a few years over twenty years ago. I valued her incisive, honest writing and criticism and we stayed in touch after we'd both left the class. We last met in the house she converted to be as environmentally sustainable as possible which she would open to the public to encourage others to do likewise. She had an unusual and admirable ability to turn conviction into practice.

A few months ago her son-in-law, Cheeseminer, and I established our small-world connection. We met for the first time today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.