Soft Focus

Something of a last minute choice of blip with my Artisan lens on my Olympus Camera.  I’d been trying to set up a vertical indoor still life shot with dead tulips using a tripod that allows me to take an image from above. I was struggling with the focus and the fact I was tired, so in the end opted for the garden and hand held.

Taking advice from the day before I began my day by doing some of the jobs I’ve been putting off,  and began to pack up things for the charity shop - some of Ann’s coats that were still in the cupboard and things from one of my drawers that needed sorting and to go out.  I also managed a small amount of clearance in my workroom, though suspect I mainly ended up moving it around.

Then A trip to the bakers in Silkstone Common, followed by a visit to pay my dues to Linda, who I still owed for shopping when I was house bound.  They have a lovely garden, which was a pleasure to sit in and to look around ( and it seemed really warm and sheltered on this day of sun but cold air).

Finally  I joined the Positive Image Zoom meeting, which was a feedback evening for images that had been submitted for the Sheffield Knockout and why the 5 images had been chosen and provide some reasons why others had not.  One of the things that has struck me recently is how liberating it feels not to be searching for images that fit this  (or any) competitions and how freeing it feels to be happily following my own interests.  Ann was never one to think competitions brought out the best practice whether in writing or in photography because you are always working with someone else in mind.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.