Mindseye

By Mindseye

Tranquil Garden

I was wandering around downstairs between 2-3.30 last night, eventually fell asleep wearing hubs towelling robe as I was cold :-/ woke at 9.05.......not feeling refreshed but got up, showered, did my hair, its getting chopped on Friday!

Went to fill up with diesel before heading for Maggies opposite The Christie.......was getting on towards midday by the time I got there. Got all emosh when I walked in, knowing I wouldnt be waiting for hubs call to say he was ready for being picked up. One of the support workers sat and chatted with me for a good while. I took myself off out into the garden for a while, its starting to come to life after the winter months.....the Daffodil Actaea were looking so lovely and restful in the sunshine. I did get upset sat there, all quiet, just the birdsong in the background.

I went back indoors as it clouded over a little, someone brought me a cup of coffee. Had a phone call from the Funeral Directors telling me they were on their way over to collect hub......which is why I had come to be honest, just wanted to be close when he came out the door, as I always was. The timing was just right, I waited another hour before leaving around 3pm, drove home, where I got another call just before 4 to say that hub was now in their care locally. Seems we had made that last journey together, from the hospital to home, at the same time, albeit in separate vehicles......I found that quite comforting. Each time I open the front door, I cant help myself, still saying "its only me" ............

Ive added a pic of hub in extras, one I really like, we had been walking near the Ribblehead Viaduct.....it was taken just 7 months ago :-(

Still more cards arriving, more donations being made, some dear friends sent me a beautiful pink magnolia tree to plant in Norms memory, called "heaven scent". Had sight of the draft eulogy today, order of service coming together...... still have a "to do" list though. Keeping busy helps I think.

Middle son rang me on his way home from work tonight, he always rang his Dad to chat about his day......not quite the same, but hopefully it will help him cope.

Hoping I sleep better tonight.......fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.