man and digger at work

Foggy, damp and rather cold. However this digger was busy at work on the slopes of the area recently felled. It had four splayed legs with wheels which seemed to be enough to keep it stable and manoeuvrable on the uneven and sloping terrain. About a week ago tractors had been busy with a gripper (sorry I am not techno at all!) removing all the random tree trunks which had remained after the main scoop before Christmas. Unless I am mistaken this particular vehicle was busy clearing trenches of debris and stacking it along another line, proceeding then to dig holes - hopefully this all means that the area will be replanted soon. Although it is not a particularly brilliant photo due to the conditions as much as anything, I did like the mirroring of the digger/grabber with the foreground uprooted tree. Apparently the single trees remaining in the otherwise desolate area are to provide raptor perches, although sadly I have never seen them in use.

Tonight I will be busy printing, cutting and packaging cards of my paintings as we have a coffee morning and exhibition next week where cards of the class' s paintings are on show and for sale. They seem to be quite popular as they are highly original and without trite verses inside so are very flexible. Then I will watch the end of Mayday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.