The Wren

By TheWren

Run Rabbit, run Rabbit, run, run, run

I was enjoying a walk and chat with a friend when we realised that we had two dogs - both the retrievers - but not Bruce. We called in vain and eventually I asked Cara to go and find him. She put her head in the air for a couple of seconds and then shot off, back in the direction from where we had come. I trust her implicitly now and began to retrace my steps, plunging down the slopes covered with dead bracken and mud as I did so. Eventually I found her and you can see what she found too. Half a Bruce! No wonder he didn't hear me calling!

However, having found him it was just far too tempting and very soon both Cara and Brodie joined in the frenzy of excavation as you can see here and here. I watched them for a few seconds and then had pity on the bunnies whose home they were destroying and finally managed to tear them away, but not without a struggle. It must be spring and bunnies must be doing what bunnies do and obviously the sounds and smells are pure temptation for Bruce and his accomplices! Anyway the rabbit warren has now got improved ventilation and luckily for me, further along the walk we went onto the moor where there is a large pool of water and we managed to get all three dogs a bit cleaner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.