100 ABSTRACTS - DAY 5

I haven’t done any colouring for a long time, so when I saw my colouring pencils in my Quiet Room, thought I would do something “clever” with them.  However, after trying to place them very carefully for sometime, Mr. HCB chipped in and asked if I had thought of doing a herringbone pattern. I said I hadn’t and did try, but couldn’t get that right either, so then decided that a random abstract pattern might look better.

I found some colouring that I had done a couple of years ago, and just threw the pencils on to it and quite liked the effect.  This shot is enhanced with a bit of "jittering" on my PhotoscapeX app, so I’m happy with this and it takes me one step closer to doing my 100 Abstracts for the Mamie Martin Fund - five down, ninety five to go.

I have been reading more about the work that this Fund does in North Malawi and on their website it says:

“Educated girls and young women not only have greater opportunities to fulfil their own potential, but can be powerful role models in their homes and communities, can challenge expectations for their role in society and make informed decisions about the health of themselves and their families. Recent research from Malawi shows that girls in school are less likely to experience violence and are at lower risk of child marriage and early and unintended pregnancy.”

Schooling is not free in Malawi so I am pleased to be able to help in some small way with my 100 Abstracts Challenge.  I was speaking to a friend last night who said she would like to buy some of my cards - and although I have never really sold them before, am wondering if this is another way I could help to raise money for the Fund.  Interestingly, a relative of hers used to be a missionary in Malawi with the Baptist Missionary Society many years ago, which was a good link, so she was interested and wanted to know more about the Fund.

I have decided to have a day off from decluttering today so am going to sit in our warm conservatory now and do some colouring.  

“Inhale possibility. 
     Exhale creativity.” 
Laura Jaworski

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.