BOOKS, BOOKS, BOOKS

First of all, thank you to everyone who left a kind message yesterday - I went to bed and slept for 6 hours - not quite sure how that happened!  Well, I did listen to a Christian meditation and think I probably heard about 10 minutes of it - I had just got to the point where I was told to “scrunch up your face - and then relax………” and I don’t remember anything after that until 6 hours later.  So at 5.30 p.m. I got up and made myself two pieces of toast, as I hadn’t had anything all day.

In the evening, Mr. HCB and I watched another episode of Downton Abbey and then watched Spring Harvest Home, a teaching and worship event, on YouTube, which was great and I know that at least one of our American friends was watching too, along with probably about 15,000 others and possibly even more.  According to the screen, at one point there were 7,600+ watching, but that was obviously from that number of devices - but if you think that there could have been 4 or 5 in a family watching, that means there were potentially around 30,000 watching.  

We enjoyed the worship and the teaching and it was amazing to think that it was all put together in about three weeks by the Spring Harvest Team so that it could go out live during this week.  There is lots going on all day, during the rest of this week, so if you missed it yesterday, you can catch it all week and of course, you can find it all on YouTube and listen again whenever you want to.

The pile of books by the side of my bed gets ever higher, but I can’t seem to settle down to doing much reading at the moment, especially not some of the “sad” books, so I will just leave them there and know that one day, I will get back to it.  

In fact, most of the books I am reading at the moment are what I call “dipping into”  books, with little snippets or nuggets that I can keep in my mind during the day.  These include my Bible and Bible Reading Notes, a special book sent to me by a Blip friend, "Benedictus" by John O'Donohue, together with two of the books that my Mum used every day, which I love reading and which mean I feel close to her whilst I'm doing that.

Take care everyone and stay safe - we will get through this.

“These books are my friends,
     my companions.
They make me laugh and cry
     and find meaning in life.”
Christopher Paolini

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.