WHEN WILL I EVER LEARN?

After my long session in the garden yesterday morning, I should have stopped while I was winning, but it seems I will never learn, and spent the rest of the afternoon out there, painting another 18 feet of fence!  When I eventually came in at 5.15 p.m. my knees, back and hands were all hurting, but did I stop there?  Oh no, I then proceeded to do some baking, which meant I was standing for another two hours.  

When Mr. HCB got home at about 7.30 p.m. and saw and heard what I had done, I must say he read the “riot act”!  He did say that the fences, lanterns etc etc all looked wonderful, but then asked if I would ever learn to stop before I overdid it?  Of course, you all know the answer I gave and consequently, today I have been suffering, particularly with my sore knees and hands.

I decided to have a bath in the evening, because I thought a good soak would help my knees, but it was a real effort to get in and in fact, having got in and read my book whilst speaking, I wondered if I could manage to get out and tried a couple of times, slumping back into the bath before trying again more than once!  Does anyone have one of those bath aids, either an electric one or one of those that looks like a blow-up cushion?  I really do need to investigate this, because although we have a large newish shower, I do love a bath.

Today, after church, I was hoping to go to a Bangladeshi Mela in a local park, but I was sensible and decided that after yesterday, too much walking about would not be a good idea, so Mr. HCB took me out for a drive - well you all know that the car needs recharging!

We went to a favourite spot of ours and saw lots of primroses and some beautiful bluebells on the grass verges - our first of the season - and having heard a sermon on “smelling” - the last in a series about the five senses, their perfume hit the spot!  I must confess that it was difficult to get right down to photograph them, alongside what I believe are some beautiful white campion flowers, but I did my best and wish I could post not only the photograph, but also the perfume.  We did notice a bluebell wood further along the road, so may go back next week and have a wander, if the weather is good.

I must apologise to all of you for not commenting yesterday, but I did have an early night after I managed to get myself out of the bath!

“I do not think I have ever 
     seen anything more beautiful 
          than the bluebell 
               I have been looking at. 
I know the beauty of our Lord by it.”
Gerard Manley Hopkins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.