The second half of life..

By twigs

Pinkiliscious

Finally managed to get to the Lake Grassmere salt works ponds when the wind wasn't blowing too hard.  Mind you, even this morning was a little dicey and I received several high wind warnings once the drone was launched.  Decided to persevere though and was pleased I did.  

The salt ponds are alien looking things - odd sizes and shapes but with a pattern and structure that makes them all the more interesting.  The salt harvesting hasn't yet finished so there was plenty still going on around the ponds.  This is the picture I'd had in mind for some time.   I've tucked it away as a 'when-the-season-is-right, or next-time-I'm-over-that-way, or when-the-weather's-right and today I got it!  Yay!  I took quite a few and whilst this one isn't the best, I think it's perfect for blipping.  

As it happened, and without any planning whatsoever, it turned into a very pink day.  First of all, the salt ponds look very pink when viewed from ground level (the colours certainly change from higher up) then, on my journey south, I decided to pop into Ward to see the Ward version of the Moeraki Boulders that sprung up following the Kaikoura earthquake 4 and a half years ago.  The whole of the Ward beach area was uplifted by some 1.8m average which has revealed some beautiful formations including some that look like a mini version of the Pink Terraces (extras 3 & 4)  One that caught my eye was a large, pale rock bounding a pool of almost obscene pink water (extras 1 & 2).  I can only imagine that that the pinkness comes from some plant life that lives in there.  

In Kaikoura tonight after a drive along the new road.  Soooo much has changed  and the addition of some lovely but very 'manufactured' stopping and viewing spots is very special.  I feel very fortunate to have previously enjoyed that section of coast though in its more raw, rough and ready state, including being able to walk up the Ohau stream to the seal pup nursery.  That walk is closed now and I believe that the walkway and pools were destroyed by the falls.  It's great to see the seal population is still thriving though, albeit in a totally new environment.

Off to Christchurch tomorrow for the annual Photography convention that is always soooo inspiring.  Looking forward to a few days of immersion. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.