Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Bald as a Coot

I managed to get my remaining hair cut today simply by walking in to my local barbers at 8am, which was lucky as they’re only doing appointments but squeezed me in for a swift once over with the clippers as short as they go. After that I had intended to take a walk down Southend High Street in search of a photo but thought I might as well go to Southchurch Park first as the weather was fine and it was nice and early. I’m glad I did as a pair of the coots there have hatched a couple of eggs with two more still to come. I usually find any newborn animals incredibly ugly (especially humans!) and these certainly don’t disappoint on that front… outrageously unattractive! I’ll probably go back again tomorrow to see how they’re doing although, apparently, they usually get eaten by predators if the locals are to be believed. We shall see.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.