A day in the life

By Shelling

Westgate

I was in Kalmar today, the main county town on the mainland, to receive my first vaccine shot. The authorities had arranged for the event to take place in the old library, now empty, awaiting new inhabitants. They had arranged a huge fence-labyrinth to arrange the people taking the vaccine in an orderly queue with plenty of distance. There was nobody on the outside when I arrived, so there was no one to get close to. I was there in good time, I was scheduled for 18.22, which says a lot about the detailed planning, but the whole thing was very smooth and took about 20 minutes from beginning to end. 

While waiting, I strolled a while in the nice weather and took this blip of the old West gate, part of the fortification of the city and once the main entrance into Kalmar for over 200 years from 1660. In those days the intruder wasn't a virus but the Danes who tried to invade Kalmar to gain power over the whole of Sweden, a kind of pandemic. The protection in those days was strong walls, today it's vaccine. But there are still no vaccine against Danes as far  as I know, we're still dependant on walls.

So far there are no annoying side effects from the vaccine and in two weeks time I will hav a very good protection installed. The second shot won't happen until mid June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.