Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Worship centre

G is on Ramadan hours now - YAY! There was a slight misunderstanding in the morning when I asked her what time did we have to leave home and she told me what time her lesson started. I'm so glad I was ready to go (almost like a pizza)!

We called in at Holy Trinity Compound on the way home. At our meeting with Captain Robert last Monday, he left me with money to pay the rent for the hall, now that they have resumed physical meet-ups. My blip is on the last stretch before climbing up a flight of stairs to get to the office. I like the way they have created an oasis of calm. A pleasant change from the functional space it was during the years that I went to church here.

The afternoon passed quickly. SweetArt's son is creating a little video of my Dad so I plugged in two of my backup drives to look for pictures. It was fantastic seeing images as far back as 2004. We all look so different!

I was back on the (Holy Trinity) compound in the evening, this time to attend the Salvation Army service. Government directions state we are only allowed to meet for thirty minutes and in that time, there is to be no singing, no musicians and no hugging, shaking hands or chatting with each other before or after the service. A physical distance of two metres has to be maintained at all times and you can't have prayer or songbooks. I wondered what a stripped-down service would be like. Cath, the lady who led us today, did a brilliant job by playing a podcast of a customised service from her home church in Wales.

Home and G was where I left her - at her desk working on tomorrow's lesson for Awana. Now that the UK has adopted British Summer Time, I was able to join the Zoom Blipmeet organised by JennyG and chantler63. It was lovely to see everyone. It was suggested to send in a favourite picture which we then got to view as a group and tell the story behind it. Genius.

PS. I should record, I had the pleasant surprise of a phone call from an ex-colleague with the possibility of some part-time work. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.