Dave77

By Dave77plus1

Dales Drive

The last time I visited the Yorkshire Dales was September 14th. It has been a long time, but today I travelled past Bury and Burnley, through Barrowford to Gisburn. I had intended to go to Skipton, and thence to Wharfedale, but on a whim I followed the Ribble into Settle.

From Settle I crossed over the wild moor, from Ribblesdale to Upper Wharfedale. The main picture is Halton Gill, a village in Littondale, whose river (the Skirfare) runs into the Wharfe near Kilnsey. The village of Litton, which gives the little dale its name, is picture-postcard pretty.

The extra is my favourite Dales place of all, Burnsall-in-Wharfedale. The Dales were at their glorious best on this day. Best place in t' world.

I have added (will add) all the day's photos to my 'April' album on Flickr.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/forwarddefensive/albums/72157718822331079

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.