Morning glory

I was up early to take Chris and his several large boxes of insects to the station, as he's taking over the fly identification part of the Leeds Masters. course from Pete, who's still recovering from the effects of the Covid jab.

As it was a lovely morning I decided to go down to the river before a day filled with more mundane chores, particularly preparing all the paperwork for my first day f paid fieldwork later in the week. On a whim I decided to see how the Fritillary plants were doing, after a very wet winter with extended flooding. It seems to have suited them as I counted 123 flowers, which is approximately double the number in previous years. The number of plants is smaller as many, like this one, have multiple flowers. This year they seem to be flowering in a fairly concerted fashion, which will also appear to boost the numbers.

After lunch Pete and I made another visit to Spalding and brought back a car-load of assorted bedding, clothes and ornaments. I'm really hoping I can soon get some of this to our local charity shop, though I think many of them are in danger of being overwhelmed because of all the clearing out that people have done through lockdown!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.