Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Borsalino

The photographer caught by his own lens. 
The hat is a Borsalino, made in Italy. The company is the oldest manufacturer of men’s and ladies hats in Allesandria, Italy, the business started in 1857. Just after I was born! 

I have worn hats since I was 15 and joined the Royal Marine Cadets. Initially a strange experience it soon became second nature. Ranging from berets through uniform peaked caps and pith helmets. I then bought my first tweed hat, a “Twa Snoater,” or double peaked hat, common in Scotland but purchased on a day out after a surfing trip in Coleraine, Northern Ireland. If only the shopkeeper knew what was under my left armpit, 9mm of Browning pistol. Caps were part of my inventory, necessary when working dogs in the damp, dark and donk forests; and of course when fishing, a way to retain a wet fly after changing them while standing in the river, gently hooking the wet fly in the hat to allow it time to dry.

Wearing a smart hat makes one obvious these days, very few men bother with their appearance enough to finish the job of dressing by donning a bonnet. This makes me feel comfortable, warm and smartens up my appearance. 

While watching the boys training at rugby last night I learned a lesson. The ladies I chatted with were, in the majority, wary of having a photograph taken; until I explained that I was talking to them because they had features that attracted me purely as a photographer, I was seeing things that many miss. Fay has clear grey eyes, Tamzin has a sharp geometric haircut, Jo is beautiful with a strong, intelligent look. I asked them a question as a group. “Do you ever receive compliments on your appearance from your husbands or partners?” The answer was in the negative. That, to me is a great shame, and perhaps indicative of the way society has changed. 

When I explained that to me they all have something attractive and different about their appearance that makes them stand out, all three looked at each other, and I could see their understanding and disappointment. Now I have an appointment with Jo for Sunday morning. She is going to allow me time to photograph her and hopefully capture what I find attractive about her. The ladies were also surprised by my open attitude to describing their appearance and complimenting them. Why? It doesn’t cost me anything, I am not being objectionable and if watched carefully it was possible to see them lift themselves and preen inwardly. 

When I see my Garden Fairy looking gorgeous I tell her. My boys do the same with their mother. It’s polite, caring and gets me some wonderful hugs. Shed the shackles of British reserve, tell people they look good, make their day. Try it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.