Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Devizes to Westminster

Each Easter a race commences at Devizes, Wiltshire and ends at Westminster Bridge, opposite the House of Commons. 125 miles or 200 Km, with 77 locks or portages, you run around the locks, straight through for seniors and four set distances for juniors. The departure time for each crew is self chosen, it depends on your training schedule times and your aim is to get to Teddington, where the Thames becomes tidal, just after the start of the ebb tide. 
My last race was in 1974. The wind was from the East, cold and strong, consequently I added a whole two hours to our estimated race time. I said nothing to our other crews, it’s a bit cat and mouse; we did not need one of our own team chasing us down. Our main competition, in a friendly aggressive game, were the SAS teams from Hereford Gun Club. 
The main image is at the start. Seconds before this picture there is one that shows a certain degree of fear but determination in my eyes. I knew what we were going into, it was my third time, for my partner it was a new experience. The first 52 miles are on the Kennet and Avon canal, the final 73 on the Thames, usually through the night.
At Boveney Lock our road team told us a SAS crew were 10 minutes ahead. Fresh meat! As we rounded the oxbow curve at Clewer I saw them outlined against the lights of Windsor, we got on their wake, had a 30 second breather then I nodded. 50 rapid strokes took us past and away. There was a short conversation.
“Who’s that” asked a bewildered SAS trooper. 
“Have a guess.” Answered a grinning Bootneck.
“Bloody Marines!” Came the anguished reply. :-)))
With 3 hours to go I was hit by Carpal Tunnel Syndrome in both wrists. One of our backup team was a nurse, Jenny, she strapped me up, covered the bandages in duct tape and off we went. Jenny also gave us a tiny tablet each and just said “Swallow.” 20 minutes later we were comfortable and going well. 
At the finish we were greeted by the Commandant General Royal Marines, senior officers and men of the SBS, brave people, we stank. We had been drinking a litre of Doc Jolly’s special energy drink per hour and peeing as we went along. The team stripped us and showered us then it was time to fall asleep in a car for the ride home to Poole. We won the team prize and one of our crews won the race. The pills we were given were Jenny’s birth control pills, it seemed she sensed we needed a mental lift. Neither of us became pregnant.
Three years ago at a party in a pub a man was introduced to me. He was a former Hereford ‘chap’ and he told me how he had tried the Devizes - Westminster twice but never finished. Pause from the boy, slight smile, “I did it three times, came sixth twice and fifth once. Even won the team trophy.” As they say, Nuff said.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.