Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Ok, so this is one of the collection of pockets. One pocket were the envelope is peeking out, one pocket were the 'thumbhole' is (the half circle), one fabric pocket and one were the other half circle is. The long strip of leave patterned paper is going to be a hinge, so this collection of pockets can be turned and harbour more pocket on the back and under (covered, secret) pockets. 

At first I thought I'd cover the books in fabric, but then I saw something on Pinterest, that I've done before on the front of a large paper pad, which is more rustic, and I think my cousin will like more. So, I crinkled the thinner kind of packaging paper (but sturdier than ordinary copy paper). The beige kind. Then I glued it down, crinkled and somewhat smoothed down, but still with texture. I'm going to use acrylic paint with sponge, to cover up the beige paper which is a bit see-through too. I'll use other mediums too. I'll try distress oxides and then some wax for some shine. I'm going to use felt on the spines, and as closures. I'll use belts, made from felt, but I also figured out that I'll use small pieces from branches I find in the wood and have slits in the belt in three places.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.