Shift changeover

It's been a lovely sunny day and I went to the castle quite early before many visitors descended.

I took some photos of a Small Tortoishell butterfly which I thought would be my blip until I went round the front of the castle.  The coots were being feisty as usual. One flew at a swan, sending it off and one sent off a pair of mallards that were sailing by it's nest.

I then saw this one climbing onto the nest where it's mate was sitting and they very quickly changed places.  I don't know how many eggs were there as the changeover was so fast.  We can see that there are at least two.

This afternoon I've been doing a little gentle gardening as I still can't walk far.  I then sat on my patio and read my book for a while.  Normally I would feel guilty for not working in it but today I had an excuse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.