SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Esk

After a morning spent staring productively at a screen, I needed a break and the weather was gorgeous, so I set off with the bike in the car. First stop was a visit to Wallace's Cave on the south bank of the North Esk in Roslin Glen (see extra). A and I walked along the opposite bank on Saturday, and saw the cave. It's said that it could hide 60 men, but it wouldn't be comfortable!

Then I moved the car to the far side of Dalkeith, where I followed the old Penicuik-Musselburgh railway alongside the Esk, through familiar pretty countryside. A loop in Inveresk took me back through Dalkeith Country Park, rediscovering a route that we once took when cycling as a family years ago, but then discovering an area of the park that I'd never seen before! Fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.