Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Disconsolate

is the word today. Very windy at Becker lake so decided not to take a camera; not even the phone. Boy was I frustrated when I spotted a lone white pelican in breeding condition (I found that out after wondering what that was sticking up from its bill) swimming with the coots and buffle heads just yards from the shore. It was still there at the far end of the lake near where I'd seen it earlier when I returned  with camera and big lens half an hour later. I walked fast along the trail hoping it would not fly . . . which of course it did before I was within decent snapping range. But where did it fly to? I waited and kept a lookout if it would come back; I walked at the river trail. No, the red winged blackbirds and ducks were no consolation. At first not even the turkey vultures could compensate for my want of a shot . . . the sun was fast approaching the western horizon. This was the only in focus shot of the four I managed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.