Off to join the Tara

Today was my half day working from home. Dealt to emails and phone calls, interspersed with some lengthy time on Zoom. After lunch I went down all the steps to the Southend of Snells Beach, around the point to Fidelis Beach (it was good to be able to run the full length of the beach), and then up from Algies Bay to Highfield Reserve. Many more steps, and I was able to run up 40 or more before walking the rest.

I recall that the New Zealander who won the 3000m Steeplechase at the Kingston Commonwealth Games in 1966 (Peter Welsh, a newly graduated doctor at the time) had trained for it by running up the longest set of steps on one of the steepest streets in Dunedin. Well above my effort.

The Taranui I have blipped was standing on the rock platform out from Fidelis Point quite on its own. This is the same Caspian Tern I have seen with the Torea (oystercatchers) and on one occasion in between Torea and Kuaka (godwits); large numbers of both. Shortly after I took this photo, expecting it to head well away, it circled around and landed beside a half dozen Tara (White-fronted terns) waiting for the rest of their large flock and the tide being further out , conditions ripe for fishing.

I seem to be free of any significant negative reaction to the vaccine, and I've alrady been sent my appointment time for the second shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.