Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cherry blossoms

Last night as I was getting into bed I thought that maybe I should photograph the sunrise at Bushy Park the next morning – but as I had not got my camera equipment ready and packed and I wanted to get there early it would mean waking up at 4.30am – when I saw that it was going to be -3C at that time I decided against it…then of course this morning I naturally woke up at 4.30am and then lay in bed deciding whether I should go or not until it was too late to go….so I was very tired this morning, made worse as I did not have any worthwhile photos to show for it.
 
Instead I visited my favourite cherry tree again and took some photos but this time I used my telephoto lens instead of the macro lens that I used last time. The tree was now in full bloom with clusters of flowers all over the tree, quite a magnificent sight.
 
Today was the day I had been counting down for the past 2 months ….the day I finally got to go to the hairdresser! I usually go every 5-6 weeks and this time it has been 20 weeks since I last went. I feel like a whole new person after getting my hair done. My hairdresser told me that many customers coming in have said that it affected their mental health to live with lockdown hair for so long, feeling very depressed every time they looked in the mirror. She also told me that both she and her husband got Covid about 10 days after their first Covid vaccine injection - the vaccine probably helped a little as although they were very ill for about 3 days and could not even get out of bed, the person they likely got it from, a work colleague of her husband,  ended up in hospital in a coma (he had not had his first vaccine yet). Unfortunately both her and her husband now have Long Covid and the doctors say it can take up to a year to clear.

Tonight we are going to Gavin's golf club for supper – Gavin assured me it would not be too cold as they were serving meals under a partially open sided marquee and had heaters and blankets. I will dress very warmly plus take a cashmere wrap just in case it is needed...it is still ridiculously cold in the evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.