Another outdoor collage!

The picture of Ralph that I took from my office desk, was one of 3 I took of him sunning himself. Ironically I was freezing this morning. We are lighting our fire less often, as the room warms up naturally as soon as the sun comes round. Then in the afternoon I am very very warm! So while I shivered, he lay roasting in the sun!

I managed a walk with Jon before work to the allotment and collected yesterday's eggs. It had poured with rain yesterday, so I didn't get there. Work wasn't too bad. The usual not enough hours in the day, but I managed to finish at 4.20. After gathering bits and pieces together I cycled up to the allotment and spent a happy headache clearing 2 hours doing stuff. In my first 'no dig' bed, I planted 8 broad beans, and put last years plastic bottle protectors over them - but not before Bluebell had scratched away at one of the plants. I like to let them free run while I am down there, but they have to go back in the run before I leave. I raked another bit beside, and planted a packet of mange-tout seeds in a zig zag. They might get dug up by mice, but I've got to start somewhere. It is so much colder than this time last year.

Then I dug over and weeded a mound of earth which was from the garden when we dug out the pond. I want it to be a bee friendly wild flower patch. I left the ground ivy, dead nettles and teasles and scattered a packet of wild flower seeds across the soft cleared soil. Then planted two small pansies that had self seeded in another plot. The hens helped me there too, as you can see, but once the hole they were digging got too big, I shooed them back into their run with a pile of weeds to scratch at.

Home by 7 where Mollie had prepared tea, so I helped a bit (but I'm not much help in the kitchen, generally, so it is usually best to leave her to it)

Now they (we?) Are watching a film. I'm probably just going to find some chocolate, then sit with my feet up and let them think I'm watching. I'm not very good at films...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.