Frosty beginning to the day. 7.15 a.m.

Frosty start to the day.
I went up the garden to the summer house to get some birdseed for the  ground feeding small birds, like our hedge sparrows and blackbirds. I did put out sultanas for the blackbirds and Mr and Mrs Blackbird have already been. I had checked to see if it was ok to still feed them these treats. 
Yesterday as Stephen was clearing a patch up by the shed and summerhouse, Mr Blackbird just came along and collected a beak full of worms quite unconcernedly, busily foraging in the cleared turned over soil.
I was very excited as I eventually came up to the loft room to write my blip and upload the photos, (see photo in extras) to see the Great Spotted Woodpecker on the new fat feeder. 
I quickly went down two flights of stairs to try and take a photo, but he was at the wrong angle and I didn't want to go out and disturb him. 
As I sit here looking out at the lovely view, I've been thinking of all the visitors who have stayed up here since we had it built in 1991, after my mum died. We did it originally, to accommodate my dad as it has a small shower room, sink and toilet as well.
       When he came for the first time for week's stay, he came up here and had a good look round, then as we went back down to the first floor he looked into the small bedroom (which is now an office/bedroom) and pronounced that he would like to sleep in there as it was cosy. 
It meant our oldest son who was the current occupant of the loft room did not have to change places. 
Our other son had the other double bedroom. We've had visitors from California, Australia, South Africa, and Florida. alongside extended family, and friends of our two lads. 
It has been well used, and we never thought that it would eventually accommodate 3 grandchildren with the fourth in the small office/bedroom. 
It is quiet up here today, one week on from their return home, and time I had some breakfast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.