Memories.

This earlier watercolour painting of mine was done way back in 2005.
It is on the wall in the back bedroom alongside various others I painted of our annual week’s holiday on the Lizard, at Mullion, in Cornwall.
My dad and Stephen are sitting on the bench in the foreground, at the left hand side. My dad with his stick. It was the last time he came with us, being in his mid 80’s.
Also the last time our son and his young wife, and our younger son were with us for the week, having two small cottages side by side.
I am so glad now that I did the painting.
I know it is amateurish in comparison with seasoned watercolour painters, (it is a difficult medium to master!).
So many precious memories on the Lizard.
I dreamed I was at dad’s last night, trying to run a bath as I was due to be somewhere to give a little talk, and had lost all my notes! Aren’t dreams bizarre!
Only the hot water kept on running out so it was taking ages to fill!
As I was sorting out yesterday’s laundry to put in the “airing cupboard” which is in this bedroom I thought again as I have done so often lately, how very much I am looking forward to being back on the Lizard in mid June. (3 days before the whole country will maybe released from Lockdown altogether!)
At least it means we can have our Cream Tea once more at the Most Southerly Café in the UK, which is in the picture.
A pleasure to come!
Another of dad that same week, just enjoying the view at Lizard Point, in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.