Squirrel Blip Friday ....

... not!

Today was rather overcast and dreary ... not much sunshine.  I only spent a short time on the deck early this morning for my SquirrelsEtc Squirrel Blip Friday photos.  It was cold and windy ... so different from Wednesday. 

It wasn't a great day for photography ... I feel I've said that a lot lately! So I was pleasantly surprised when I saw this male American Goldfinch outside the front window.  I was able to crack the window open a smidge and get a few photos of him.  Full disclosure ... this is actually the same goldfinch. I wanted to show off his beautiful Summer yellow (front and back)  so I layered two pictures together.  It's not a perfect layering but it'll have to do.  Some of the goldfinches migrate out of the area for winter but the ones that stay lose their gorgeous yellow coloring until Spring.  I love watching the change during this time of year.  

I haven't seen any dark-eyed juncos since Wednesday so I think they have migrated out of our area until the Autumn.  I will miss them but now I can look forward to the Catbirds and Hummingbirds returning.  I've already seen some chipping sparrows and song sparrows ... which are summer birds here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.