BREAKING NEWS: New Lodgers Flying In and Out

Moss? As I was opening the roll-down shutter of Our Eastwindow, small tufts of moss came whirling down. Who would be busy building a nest with moss? For Our usual guests the Hornets it is still too cold. Then I remembered having seen similar green tufts on an other window-sill. But then my early morning took off. Until after breakfast I returned to open the window to let in fresh air.
There I saw a yellow-blue tit hanging upside-down from the shutter like an acrobat on the trapeze. Was he picking around for small titbits? Again I went on cleaning up Our bedroom and forgot the winged acrobat. Until around midday I met Our dear neighbour Brigitte. We talked about covid-times, vaccination, the sudden death of Our very old neighbour a fortnight ago. She told about her blue tit brooding her egg under the surveillance camera. So thrilling.
And then she pointed to Our Eastwindow. But you too, she said. Metoo? Whatdoyoumean? She meant that she had observed tits nestling inside the shutterbox. Ah! Then the pieces fell together. Never before had I experienced  that nice little tits would build their nests somewhere in our House. Of course in the ivies around.
In the bushes of the downhill garden. And there is another nest build under the balcony. Lodgers unknown, too early for swallows. But inside, no not inside Our Home. It must have have felt a cosy shelter up there during this chilling long winter.
I gives me a very happy feeling hosting a new tit family. Hopefully waking up in the future by the hungry chittersong of the newborn. I’m taking care already rolling up and down the shutters very very slowly and very very silently. Like in a prayer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.