ALL about ME..for now

By Mobius

Era

Apologies, I feel compelled to reflect the beginning of the end of an era with the passing of Prince Philip, with the village tribute and situation (see extras) and self-indulge in what I wish to diarise. 

I felt tearful during odd spells during today, which is rare for me.

The pictures show the village tribute and situation, attached to an old wesleyan chapel (1820 I think).

Prince Philip
I’m not a passionate royalist although I am an avid supporter of their value to the nation, revel in the pageantry, and have the highest awe of The Queen ,and also Prince Philip now that I know so much more about him.

I’ve been far more moved and emotional over this royal person or event than any previously and  have a feeling of awe. His life journey from the trauma of his childhood family breakup, his warmth, solid values,  whit, and how visionary and ahead of his time he was. I am also aware of his human frailties.

Lord Chatres Epitaph
The eloquent epitaph provided by Lord Chartres (ex-Bishop of London) on BBC Radio 4 Today this morning resonated with me, especially this quote.

 “He was equally at home with the broad church, the high church and the low church, but most of all he liked the “short church.”

I also liked the buzz items: a natural leader but choose to be a servant; his holistic rather than cloistered attitude to life and the establishment of St Georges House to bring religious, scientific, and political leaders together. 

The actual funeral service itself was perfect for this occasion, the simplicity, the earthiness, and the music (I love choral and organ music and shall be exploring William Lovelace including his guitar work ).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.