Early One Morning

Once a month the Arboretum on campus opens at sunrise for those eager beavers who want to see the plants and birds in relative quiet and beautiful light. We got there around 7 and wandered for about an hour, not seeing another person to distract us from the intense color that’s popped out everywhere. The garden features plants from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, which sometimes can appear rather dry and drab. Not in the spring though! 

I went right to the giant grevillea that is usually swarming with hummingbirds, but I think it was too cold for them. Instead the shrubs were hopping with dozens of sparrows, so I set out to photograph one of those bright striped yellow heads. I never noticed their feet til I got home and was surprised to see bands on several of the birds. I found three different combinations, but I have no idea what they mean. I did send a note to  ask about the whole process, but I haven’t heard back yet. I did find that you read the left leg first, blue over yellow, and then the right, silver over light blue. And I think the metallic tags are federal, but that’s all I could find in a quick search.

I did find one hummer, either an Alan’s or a Rufous. I’m not good enough to tell them apart—it has something to do with the width of the tail feathers.


Somehow all that pleasant activity resulted in a nasty headache, which I haven’t had for so long that I forgot how to treat it. Heat, ice, sleep, Imitrex, massage, nothing’s made a difference. Typing this doesn’t help, so I’m done for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.