Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Inca

A beautiful bright and sunny day but I would be lying if I said it was warm, with temperatures still below what they should be for this time of year. Gavin and I started the day with a fabulous run through the woods with Xena, she loves running with us and the woods is so quiet early in the morning. She is very good on our walks and runs - yesterday on our walk when she was off the lead she met two horses, she just looked at them and did not even bark, and she came straight back to me when I called her.

Today Tommy is going back to university and is giving Inca a lift so they are driving with all their stuff packed in the car. Before they left we had our first BBQ of the year, which was very tasty as Gavin made home made kebabs (chicken or halloumi) and I made salads.

Since I did that RPS 'portraits at home' workshop via zoom I have been wanting to practice some of the things we discussed - one of the techniques was to have an object blurred in front of the subject to partially hide them and to act as a frame, and as Inca does not like having her photo taken this seemed very appropriate - using natural light with a shallow depth of field and processed as a high key portrait. I love using my 85mm lens and never get much opportunity to use it so today was a good opportunity to do so.

I was very saddened by the untimely death of the actress Helen McCrory, I have always loved her work and feel a bit shocked that she has died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.