A walk in the wild woods

It has been a lovely day today.. warm and sunny with very little wind.  We decided to head out to the woods incase the bluebells were showing but we were a little too early.. there were a couple but not the full display yet.  Lots of birdsong and pheasants meandering in the undergrowth.  One sat tight until I was about three feet from it then leapt up and out of the grass with a cackle and clatter of wings.. I got such a fright that I shrieked .. lucky we had the woods to ourselves!!  I hadn't seen it laying low by the path!!  The chestnut leaves are so beautiful when they are this small.. and the I love the hairy hazel leaves and the tiny little violets.. glorious.
We treated ourselves to a big ice cream at a nearby shop.. tasty coffee ice cream.. we haven't had a takeaway ice cream since 2019.. weird thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.