advanced digital photography

(edit: I am behind posting blip entries but will catch up, just been quite busy!)

Today's blip is a close shot of a model we took many photos of during a digital photography class I attended. I signed up for a creative photography course and it did not fill/was cancelled. But I knew the instructor had another class . . . advanced digital photography. I asked if I could be placed in that instead and although the class is a little above my skill level, the instructor said he thought I would do just fine. I was not afraid of the lingo! Until today I have only used my camera on the automatic or scene modes. Today I learned how to take my camera out of automatic and set the ISO and the aperture myself with a small dial that I previously never even knew what it was for, geeze! I know I am light years behind many of my blip friends in this respect but know you will understand that I feel really good about stepping into "telling your camera what to do instead of the other way around" (my instructor's words).

I experienced first hand what changing the settings could do and for probably the first time took photos with a flash that actually looked good! I even found my White Balance and adjusted that per my instructors suggestion as well as the EV setting-flash level I think. Now, it is going to take me some time to wrap my brain around all these adjustments and I do not have a lot of experience to tell me just where to put the settings yet, but I figure I will do some reading and go back to class next week and try to drink it in. We had a model come to class so we could try all the different settings on our cameras depending on the light where she was standing and it was very helpful and I took better photos than usual as far as exposure, hallelujah! I was at times getting frustrated that I could not expose my photos the way I wanted when it was riding automatic. So we'll see. Wish me luck - i know you will!

There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.
~ Ansel Adams


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.