curns' corner

By curns

Me and my shadow

It’s a beautiful Saturday. For some reason, I ended up completing the weekly shop early. We had some errands to run in Wimbledon but were back quite quickly and so we had time to spend part of the afternoon in the garden at the back. I opened a book that I have been reading since Christmas - and not looked at for more than a month. In these ‘unprecedented times’ I have not read as much as I used to as all my reading time was on commuter trains. I’ve replaced them with audiobooks on my daily walk but I don’t count it as reading. So it was lovely to sit and read some chapters.

The back garden is east(ish) facing which means it gets the morning sun but, at this time of year, the afternoon sun is at the front of the house. Today we pulled the fold-up chairs from the loft and used them to sit on the paved area at the front. Hardly St Tropez, being sat by the bins, but it was very warm, we had beers and chatted to a couple of neighbours from down the street who we had not spoken to before. Quite a relaxing way to spend the day. If only they were rocking chairs and this was a front porch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.