One Ant to Many - at least

One Ant to Many - at least
We have a clump of beautiful Daffodils / Narcissi that has come up well this year mainly due to the fact that we cut back the wisteria very hard and it was not swamped by it.

Not sure what type of Narcissi it is. Anyway I decided yesterday to take a photo of it as a Focus Stack. The result was not good, too much wind. So today I got out the 'Floer Wind Break' Sue had made by cutting the bottom out of one of my Tale Top Tents. I could have done that bit but she did sow the rough edge very nicely :) You can see my set up in the picture. 

36 images taken with approx 1.5mm between each shot (three twiddles of the focus rail screw -f/8; 100iso; 1/125th). Still a bit of wind disruption so I took my time between each shot. 

I had seen this ant wondering around the petals but surprise came when after I had Focus Stacked them in Helicon Focus - He/she got about a bit. I retouched them all out in Helicon Focus except for two. 

In the picture you can also see one of my vital camera bag accessories for flower photography. A Crocodile clip glued onto an old radio aerial with a bit of shammy leather to protect the flower. Not my idea but one I picked up from Richard Revells and Stan Saunders from the Cambridge Camera Club many years ago. 

Not the final image, I will need to do a bit of PhotoShopping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.