The Story of Some Bricks

The Story of Some Bricks.
I lived in the centre of Cambridge with my parents for the first twenty years of my life. The house was a simple two up two down town property built in the early 1900's. My Mother had done a few alterations like knocking the two downstairs rooms into one open plan room.
In 1970 I moved out and in the next year my farther convinced my mother to install heating, we only had a coal fire, and have a kitchen and bathroom extension which meant that the loo was no longer outside.
Just to note the house I moved into had an outside loo so it was not until I was about 25 did I get and inside one.
Anyway the 'old kitchen' was a single brick building attached to the back of the house. This room was called the Scullery.  It had a brick floor and when the builders where taking down the old to build the new my mother asked the builders to leave these  floor bricks behind. They were traditional Cambridge Buff White half height bricks. These were pilled up in the garden in 1970 and were still there when she past away in 2010. She was an interesting horder to say the least. 
When we cleared the house I moved the bricks to Haddenham. Fast forward now to 2021, 50 odd years after they where dug up they are about to become a 'floor again' in the garden. Note - after 50 years there are only 62 bricks left.
The photos show how I started this morning on digging the first half of the area. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.