This One

After a couple of years of pain and reduced movement in my left shoulder which was ultimately diagnosed as a frozen shoulder, today I (Chris) had capsular release surgery. It will hopefully give a permanent fix. It’s not an uncommon problem for type 1 diabetics.

It was all done very efficiently, I was first in theatre this morning and knocked out for the duration thankfully. There was lots of guidance on using pain relief as apparently I’m going to be needing it but for now it’s still completely numb and my arm is like a dead weight hence the sling. It will take a few months to fully heal, physio starts on Wednesday. Poor Annie is going to have a few extra jobs to do in the coming days/weeks, especially as for now at least I can’t drive. Onwards and upwards however.

I enjoyed the the consultant’s annotation to make sure he got the right shoulder (the right one being the left one!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.