Out On the Wiley Windy Moor

Marian went out with a friend and wouldn't be back for lunch so I packed up a sarnie and headed out to the moor. I stopped at Saddle Tor and walked north past Emsworthy Rocks, Holwell Tor and out to Small acombe Rocks. I sat on the top here and had my lunch.
 
You can see Hound Tor on the skyline centre. Great Tor is the double crest of rock, down a bit to the right. The pony jumps on Holwell Lawn are just past the big rock on the left. 

I found myself looking out here and thinking, I wish I could show not just how it looks but how it feels to be looking out on this great panorama on such a lovely day. Unfortunately the camera can't see how the eye sees it or how the brain processes it. ] You probably had to be there.

My title if you didn't recognise it, is the first line of Kate Bush's 'Wuthering Heights'. It was what came into may head on the way back walking into the breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.