Below the clouds

Not a lot seen on my morning run. Busy all day long at the office. Then a rush to get daughter J back to the garage to pick up her car after a rather expensive service, before they closed for the weekend. She is using S' car for the meantime, and my attention to the needs for a regular service were not good before. Worse now. Lots to do, plus new brake pads and a replacement headlight unit. Ouch, went my credit card.

So, while making a Friday dinner, I watched from the deck the setting of the sun. I caught this just before the sun dropped not just below the cloud layer, but also behind the Waitakeres.

From the camera there was no detail in the foreground, which I had been able to see very clearly. I reduced the shadow, giving more detail of the buildings in the foreground, but left enough shadow to leave the sky dominant. As that changed the colours a bit, I increased the highlights, which I had previously found by trial and error best restored the colour to what it was.

Normally, I leave my pictures pretty much as they come from camera to computer. This is more nearly what I saw. I did ask the advice of S, because the dark foreground had an interesting feel. She agreed with my choice of the lighter shadows. Much better large

Saturday tomorrow. Reading for the two days of meetings next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.