First glimpse of the rising sun

Despite protestations from S that I should do something different, and that even the photo of the reflected sun in buildings in the city would have been preferable, I have chosen this picture to post, as a continuation of the series.

I wanted this to be from a different place, and took myself down to Tamaki Drive, which follows the coastline around the edge of the Waitemata from the central city out to St Heliers. Angles were wrong from there, so I went up onto Bastion Point beside the Michael Joseph Savage Memorial.

I am pleased with the result. Especially large

Michael (Mickey) Savage was NZ's first Labour Prime Minister, elected in 1935. The Welfare State which New Zealanders of my vintage enjoyed as we grew up, and our grandparents enjoyed as the aged, and our parents enjoyed the stability of the rather dour country, that was set up by the first Labour Government. In the 1980s the fourth Labour Government broke the agreement with the people, and introduced monetarism, which has seen New Zealand experience amongst the most rapid increases of the wealth gap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.