Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

J is for Jaunty

These are our jauntiest sparrows, with their bold striped heads and bright yellow eye brows.  Not to mention their beautiful whistles "old Sam Peabody" song.  They are winter residents in our area, so large numbers are moving north now.  And in a week or so, they will all be gone until sometime in the fall.  I am seeing a half dozen or so every day right now, some fully molted into their breeding plumage (like this one) and others still looking a little scraggly.  But they are all in fine song and add to the chorus.

I had some unsettling dreams last night, all cancer related - I guess my sub-conscious is still working on this whole thing.  Anyway, this morning my emotions were feeling dangerously close to the surface so I decided to take the tumor to the gym (yes, that's tumor-humor so feel free to chuckle) to show it what's what.  I had a good workout and came home feeling a little less out of sorts.  

The weather was much better today than forecasted, so I spent some nice time in the hide.  I've already hung a hummingbird feeder and although it's still a bit early, I'm keeping an eye out for the first one to make an appearance.  The first male usually shows up the last week of April, so soon...

MIL's facility had another positive covid case (an unvaccinated employee) so they are in a hard close right now meaning no one in or out until two full test cycles.  I think they are getting very close to mandating that all employees must be vaccinated.  Which I am 100% in favor of.  I respect that some people don't want to get a vaccine for whatever number of reasons, but if you're going to be working around the most fragile members of our population, you need not to be bringing virus into their lives.  It's psychologically damaging for the residents to be continually forced into isolation just because a few random employees apparently haven't been careful.  Interestingly, over 90% of the residents of this facility are vaccinated and over 70% of employees.  But all it takes is one.  Okay, rant over.  Thankfully, MIL is blissfully unaware.

Take precautions to stay safe.  And be kind.  And today... dark chocolate truffles.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.