Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Silo Art

Wow, what a day.  It was our earliest start today.  We were well on the road by 6.15am and determined to catch the early light.  We knew we had a long drive and in fact when we pulled in to the Streaky Bay Caravan Park tonight we had ticked over 610 kilometres.  The first couple of hours we were dogged by road works but rewarded with a wonderful morning light.  Mauzee has featured the sunrise in her journal tonight.  I’ve posted two images.  The main one is of the incredible Silo Art at Kimba on the Eyre Peninsula.   I’ve also added a couple of extra images.  The first one is of the intrepid explorer John Eyre and his loyal indigenous tracker who overlook the town of Kimba from the Lookout on the outskirts of the town.  It seemed fitting to post this as we’ll be travelling the Eyre Highway for the next few days as we drive to Western Australian.
The second extra, OF COURSE it’s a Pelican.  I can’t resist them and I always feel my dear Mum Enid Pearl who passed away in 2013 is watching over me when Pelicans are around.  This beauty was paddling gently along a few metres off shore when we arrived at Streaky Bay.  I just love this place and so happy to be having a days respite tomorrow.  The tripod will be out and ready for the morning sunrise and I’ll be on the beach at first light to see what magic happens at Golden Hour. 
Day 4
610 Kms
Total: 1924 Kms

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.