Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Parachutes

It’s Tiny Tuesday and few things make me happier than a sun-warmed dew-drenched early morning - although your comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s ‘Luminous Clock’ would certainly be close contenders. Thank you so much. 

Yesterday’s dandelion photo shoot, however, was not without incident, and sadly, there were casualties scattered on the grass, tiny parachutes dislodged when I accidentally knocked against a seed head. 

This morning when I return, I find them drenched with dew, gossamer spokes matted into wedges - still beautifully translucent, but not quite what I want. 

Instead, I bring in the reserves, reinforcements deliberately shaken from their seed head home, gently floating down to join their fallen comrades. Fresh and crisp, trailing their mini-bulrush seeds, they balance delicately amongst the grasses. 

Of course, G is not best pleased that now his precious lawn is likely to sprout dandelions. I’ve told him wildflower lawns are all the rage, but somehow I don’t think he’s convinced! 

The war on dandelions is a war we cannot win. These plants are here to stay. By developing more environmentally sound lawn and yard care practices we can limit the populations of Dandelions somewhat, but face it, they are now a part of our landscape. And remember, it's just a little plant, it's not the second coming of Satan. Take a deep breath, relax and enjoy your lawn more. Life's too short to get all bent out of shape by a little plant. 


Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.