Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Luminous clock

So, another Mono Monday, and another wonderful thought provoking theme from random_angel: luminous. 

My first thoughts go to those glow-in-the-dark reflective clock faces, antiquated items, long replaced by brash digital figures. But of course, ‘luminous’ is far more than this. Luminous is giving off light; bright or shining, producing or reflecting light. 

Abandoning the memories of green-glow clocks from childhood, I decide to photograph a dandelion clock. Who knew it would take so long to find one? The yellow suns of flowers bloom in drifts, but as for seed heads ..... it seems I’m out of luck. 

Eventually I find one, then another; soon I have a mini-posy in my fist and carefully I transport it home ready for this morning’s photo-session. Miraculously, most of them survive. 

I’m not sure how well the gossamer heads will stand up to a misting, but they’re tougher than they look, and this morning’s early morning sunshine illuminates the tiny droplets, transforming the seed head to a fanciful miniature chandelier. 


Life is not a series of gig lamps symmetrically arranged; life is a luminous halo, a semi-transparent envelope surrounding us from the beginning of consciousness to the end.

Virginia Woolf 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.