Wallflower

Unlike yesterday, the sun has been shining for much of the day - although those ominous storm clouds seem to hug the hills with obstinacy. 

Bodnant seems an obvious choice in my hunt for macro shots. It’s glorious right now, with magnolias, azaleas and rhododendrons radiantly in bloom. I try hard not to be side-tracked by all this blousy beauty however, focusing instead on tiny details. Amazingly, there’s not a single butterfly in sight, and hardly any pollinators, but there are beautifully unfurling ferns, unfolding leaves and tiny flowers aplenty. In terms of flora, I’m quite spoilt for choice. 

Late afternoon, I wander round our garden; still nothing seems to be moving. Then suddenly I spot the tiniest hoverfly imaginable, and he decides to spend a while gorging on the grape hyacinths and tiny wallflowers in one of our containers. So after all the wealth that Bodnant offers, my main today comes from our own humble plot - though I’ve put the ferns in extras, together with a female orange tip from Sunday that was ousted from its chance of fame by my bluebell spider. As she’s the only butterfly I’ve seen this year, it seems only fair she at least makes it as an extra! 

Thank you so much for your kind responses to yesterday’s excess from The Orme! It really was impossible to choose, so thanks for your indulgence even if you didn’t agree with my choice of main!  

Thanks also to Sheol for hosting tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.