Not the Stone of Destiny

Well, I had intended to blip the Stone of Destiny, the Crowning Stone of Scottish Monarchs (and English ones since Edward I took it to Westminster 700 years ago) but the custodians of Edinburgh Castle are a bit testy about photography. You will recall that at the end of February, I had been sitting in the sunshine reading 'Romanno Bridge' by Andrew Greig, which is fictional adventure yarn about the theft of the Stone(s). So I was keen to see the real (?) thing for myself. The Stone which is kept with the Scottish Crown Jewels in Edinburgh is a rough bit of sandstone with two iron rings attached. It doesn't look much, but is of great National importance. If you want to see it, you can visit Edinburgh yourself, or go on Wikipedia.

Instead, I bring you a photo of these three prosthetic limbs from a very interesting exhibition. From left to right: a tin leg from 1936, a 'Jaipur Limb' from India, and a modern running prosthesis made in Iceland. I watched an inspiring video about Chris Moon, who lost an arm and leg to a mine in Iraq and who has since run the West Highland Way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.