D77

By D77

View from the roof

Late last night we met with our wedding photographer and whittled 950 photos down to 115 in a relatively painless couple of hours. There are some lovely shots from the day which now need to be sifted through again to make albums and books.

The photographer guy was the one who leant me his 105mm macro lens a while back and said I was to 'make an offer' should I want it. The auto focus doesn't work as it's quite an old lens but the chip (or whatever it is that doesn't work) can be updated if needed. With that in mind, and with the fact that manual focus is much easier for extreme close-ups anyway (which is primarily what I want it for), I walked away with the lens for 50 rials (about£ 90 at today's exchange rate) which I am chuffed to bits about.

Tuesdays are my heaviest teaching days and so can be quite draining. I've been spending a bit of time recently developing some video lessons for my ESP (English for Special Purposes) classes which focus on the restaurant and hotel trades. The Mr Bean videos I've been pulling off YouTube and converting into workable lessons for this purpose are going down a storm. To mix things up a little I also downloaded a couple of Nigella Lawson clips of her preparing some dishes. The boggle-eyed looks on the boys' faces when she vigorously whisks up the ingredients of her home made brownies is rather amusing.

Two teaching highlights from my day:

Class D4

Me: "Adnan, why do you bother coming to college if you're just going to sit there, with no books, no pen and no dictionary looking bored out your mind? Where would you rather be?"
Adnan: "Anywhere my destiny takes me."


Class TG2

Abdullah: "Aaaahhchoo!"
Ali: "Bless you Abdullah".
Abdullah: "Thank you Ali. You are very sweet and handsome."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.