Daily essentials!

I was in two minds when I ordered this book earlier in the year but it has become part of my daily life. Tracking everything I've planted and placed around the garden, also recording all sorts of what will be useful next year, if there is some success this year! The pencil because I'm always changing things, and the hand cream is a new discovery which has been amazing. My hands and nails are always an absolute mess from gardening and although not perfect they look and feel a whole lot better than usual.
The morning was spent planting. Barry did the potatoes out in the beds and I finished planting the last of the ten buckets of potatoes. A little experiment this year to see which grows best and gives us the better spuds! I planted the first row of parsnips and chard outside. Hopefully the worst of the frosts are now gone but the rabbits are still about so that may be a challenge as things hopefully start to grow. I have quite a few seedlings appearing in the growing room and some in the poly tunnel. I just hope our season will be long enough to bring them to fruition. Watch and wait!
I sat in the poly tunnel listening to my audiobook and organised all my packets of seeds, a job long overdue and a bit out of control. It was good to get them sorted. I now have some ready to sow tomorrow and know when I need to sow the rest. I have ordered 3 cucumber plants as my seeds grew but then failed, it was too cold overnight in the growing room and I should have brought them indoors....lesson learned. It's too late for more seeds now so plants it is and touch wood!
I had a lovely phone call from my elder son. It was good to hear  their plans and also a quick chat with my 5 year old granddaughter who was thrilled to tell me that she had brought home a shield and a sword made for her at school by Hugo. It appeared to be the highlight of her day. She only started school last September and so missed not being able to go for so many months. Now she's making the most of every minute.
Mum is pretty well at the moment but we are still waiting news of a date. It's all becoming a bit tedious now. How long does it take to do repairs and sanitise a flat only built 18 months ago??
We are ever the optimists and hope tomorrow will bring the awaited good news!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.