IN THE LOCAL PAPER

I saw a picture of a stork pair this morning. They were spotted in a meadow in the Uithof (park). The weather looked at that moment not yet so nice, but I made the decision to cycle and look if they were still there..
On my way through the Madestein park I saw Hetty sitting between the 19 swans. Of course I went first to say hello. She knew all their little stories and their developping love stories.
When I arrived at the end of the Uithof where the meadows are I saw the flock of white geese that live there, but no storks.
On my way back I walked for a moment to view the Hooglander cows that behind fences have their home. Three herons stood at the shore of a little pond. In the backlight or when I moved a bit in the sidelight.
The sun had come from behind the soft clouds at that moment.
I stood for a while, I find herons such fascinating birds, and another heron landed and walked towards one of the others. Obvious a female, because they started a love dance. Never had I seen this before.
At some moment the male flew away and came some minutes later back and it all started again. The other herons were not interested at all.
And then the couple flew away together and landed in a high tree and sat between the branches.
I was very curious what my pictures would show. I had to choose from many and here is where it all started, one other heron walks by.
Cycling home I remembered suddenly that my intention for this day had been to clear my wardrobe, hang my clothes on the balcony in the soft breeze.
And after lunch I did that.

My haiku:

Their bills clatter full
Of thrilled joy, their heads close by
Streching their long legs

And the latin proverb:

The grape gains in purple tinge by looking at another grape.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.